Illustrative imageTablet by Hotwav · 2 versions · Information sheet (PDF)
- Pro: 1,000 charge cycles typical: 800
- Pro: Survives 208 drops typical: 52
- Pro: Scratch resistance level 6 typical: Level 5
- Con: Battery built in like 91% of tablets
Compared with all tablets
▲Better than 47%
●Lowest level
▼9% are better
▲Better than 57%
▲Top 6%
▼Bottom 31%
▲Better than 71%
Similar tablets
- Blackview ZENO 2Class B · 6 years of updatesOverall rating5.5/10
- Blackview ZENO 2 KidsClass B · 6 years of updatesOverall rating5.5/10
- Thomson Pad SEClass B · 5 years of updatesOverall rating5.5/10
- Thomson Pad ProClass B · 5 years of updatesOverall rating5.5/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Pro Wi-FiClass B · Index 3.60▲Index +0.01Overall rating6.5/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Pro 5GClass B · Index 3.60▲Index +0.01Overall rating6.5/10
- Rugtake T1 ProClass B · Index 3.93▲Index +0.34Overall rating6.4/10
- Orcatab WT3 ProClass B · Index 3.93▲Index +0.34Overall rating6.4/10
- Rugtake T1 Pro7 years of updates▲+2 years of updatesOverall rating6.4/10
- Orcatab WT3 Pro7 years of updates▲+2 years of updatesOverall rating6.4/10
- Orcatab WT3Pro7 years of updates▲+2 years of updatesOverall rating6.4/10
- Rugtake T17 years of updates▲+2 years of updatesOverall rating6.4/10
- Oukitel RT6Survives 270 drops · IP68▲+62 dropsOverall rating5.7/10
- Oukitel RT8Survives 270 drops · IP68▲+62 dropsOverall rating5.7/10
- Oscal SPIDER 10Survives 215 drops · IP68▲+7 dropsOverall rating5.7/10
- Oukitel RT3 PlusSurvives 270 drops · IP68▲+62 dropsOverall rating5.7/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Pro Wi-FiIP68, waterproof▲waterproofOverall rating6.5/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Pro 5GIP68, waterproof▲waterproofOverall rating6.5/10
- Rugtake T1 ProIP68, waterproof▲waterproofOverall rating6.4/10
- Orcatab WT3 ProIP68, waterproof▲waterproofOverall rating6.4/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Pro Wi-FiUser-replaceable battery▲replaceable batteryOverall rating6.5/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Pro 5GUser-replaceable battery▲replaceable batteryOverall rating6.5/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 Wi-FiUser-replaceable battery▲replaceable batteryOverall rating6.4/10
- Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 5GUser-replaceable battery▲replaceable batteryOverall rating6.4/10
More about the Hotwav TAB R9 Plus
In short: Good repairability and a long-lasting battery, but the battery is built in. Overall rating 5.5 out of 10, Rank 195 of 1,338 tablets.
How the overall rating is calculated
How the 5.5 comes about
Eight values from EPREL, 0 to 10 points each, with fixed weights.
- Repairability6.535%+2.3
- Updates5.020%+1.0
- Replaceable battery0.010%+0.0
- Charge cycles5.010%+0.5
- Drops10.010%+1.0
- Battery life7.55%+0.4
- Water1.05%+0.1
- Scratches6.05%+0.3
Product information sheet (EU)
Supplier information from the official product information sheet under Delegated Regulation (EU) 2023/1669, EPREL number 2409936. Index scores from 1 to 5; EPREL stores spare parts, software updates and repair information as a level, and the scores shown are converted from it. Placed on the Union market from 2025-07-08.
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| 1. Supplier’s name or trademark | HOTWAV |
| 2. Model identifier | TAB R9 Plus |
| General product parameters | |
| 4. Device type | Tablet |
| 5. Operating system | Android |
| 6. Energy efficiency class | C |
| 7. User-replaceable battery | No |
| 8. Battery endurance per cycle [h] | 483.07 |
| 9. Battery endurance in cycles, default settings [cycles] | 1,000about 2.5 years at one full charge a day |
| 10. Rated battery capacity [mAh] | 20,080 |
| 11. Shipped with protective cover | No |
| 12. Repeated free fall reliability: falls without defect [n] | 208 |
| 13. Falls without defect, tested in fully extended state [n] | not applicable |
| 14. Repeated free fall reliability class | A |
| 15. Ingress protection rating | IP20 |
| 16. Declared immersion depth in water, for IPx8 [m] | not applicable |
| 17. Scratch resistance of the screen on Mohs’ hardness scale | 6 |
| 18a. Charger: required output power [W] | 20 |
| 18b. Charger: receptacle type (at the device end) | USB-C |
| Repairability information | |
| 19. Guaranteed minimum availability of security, corrective and functionality updates for the operating system (years) | 5Updates until at least 2035-07-08 |
| 20. Repairability class (based on the index) | B |
| 21. Repairability index | 3.59 out of 5 |
| 21a. Disassembly depth score (SDD) | 4.05 out of 5 |
| 21b. Fasteners type score (SF) | 3.50 out of 5 |
| 21c. Tools type score (ST) | 3.70 out of 5 |
| 21d. Spare parts score (SSP) | 4 out of 5 |
| 21e. Software updates duration score (SSU) | 3 out of 5 |
| 21f. Repair information score (SRI) | 3 out of 5 |
| 22. Web link to information on the availability of spare parts for professional repairers and end users | not specified |
| 23. Web link to repair instructions for end users | not specified |
| 24. Web link to indicative pre-tax prices | not specified |
| Additional information | |
| 25. Minimum duration of the guarantee offered by the supplier [months] | 12 |
Buying used?
Good with a fresh battery Long updates and good repairability; the built-in battery is rated for fewer than 1,200 charge cycles. Plan for a battery replacement.
- Updates until at least 2035-07-08
- Battery built in, 1,000 cycles ≈ 2.5 years
- Spare parts until at least 2037-07-08
- EU class B: good
What to check: Ask about the battery: remaining capacity or charge cycles; below 80 % capacity a replacement is due. Check on the device when the last security update arrived and that account and network locks have been removed. Guide to buying used
Verdict by fixed rules from the manufacturer data, not paid for: how it is made.
Compare with similar devices
Higher-rated devices of the same type. Green: the best value where the devices differ.
Fact sheet
- On the market since
- 2025-07-08
- Supplied to retailers until
- 2030-07-08
- Supplier in EPREL
- HOTWAV
- Index
- 3.59 out of 5
- Name in EPREL
- TAB R9 Plus
Versions (2)
Same name, separate entries in EPREL, such as country or software versions.
Frequently asked questions
Can you replace the battery of the Hotwav TAB R9 Plus yourself?
No, according to the supplier in EPREL the battery of the Hotwav TAB R9 Plus is not user-replaceable.
How long does the Hotwav TAB R9 Plus get updates?
According to the supplier in EPREL, at least 5 years of operating system updates, counted from the end of sales.
How easy is the Hotwav TAB R9 Plus to repair?
The Hotwav TAB R9 Plus has EU repairability class B (good, index 3.59 out of 5) and an overall rating of 5.5 out of 10 from us, rank 195 of 1,338 tablets.
Is the Hotwav TAB R9 Plus waterproof?
No, rated IP20 according to the supplier in EPREL: no protection, not for submersion.
Sources
Laws and regulations in their current version, linked to the source.
- EPREL, European Product Registry for Energy LabellingEuropäische Kommission · Database · 13 Oct 2026
- EPREL public data disclaimerEuropäische Kommission · Database · 13 Oct 2026
- EPREL Public API terms and conditionsEuropäische Kommission · Guidance · 3 Jun 2024
- Delegated Regulation (EU) 2023/1669 (energy labelling of smartphones and slate tablets)EUR-Lex · EU regulation · 16 Jun 2023
- German Act against Unfair Competition (UWG)Bundesministerium der Justiz · Law · 27 Sept 2026
How the used-device verdict is made
Four fixed rules from the supplier data in EPREL, as of 2 November 2026; we do not test devices, and no retailer pays for the verdict. Remaining years of updates are the end of sales (the data date if EPREL has no end date) plus the promised years of updates, minus today. “Good as a used device” means EU class A or B, at least 3 years of updates left and a replaceable battery or at least 1,200 charge cycles. “Good with a fresh battery” means class A or B, at least 3 years of updates left, built-in battery with fewer than 1,200 cycles. “Only usable for a short time” means less than 2 years of updates left. All other devices count as “Limited suitability”. Years of updates and spare parts run from the end of sales (Regulations (EU) 2023/1669 and 2023/1670); we convert charge cycles into years at one full charge a day.
Explore more
Better alternatives
- Blackview Tab 30 Kids6.4 out of 10 · rank 17
- Blackview Tab 30 WiFi6.3 out of 10 · rank 19
- Lipa RT106.2 out of 10 · rank 21
- Lipa Onyx III6.2 out of 10 · rank 22
- Rugtake T5 Pro5.9 out of 10 · rank 63
- Hotwav TAB R9 Ultra 5G5.9 out of 10 · rank 65
- Hotwav TAB R11 Pro5.9 out of 10 · rank 67
- Oukitel RT10 Industry5.8 out of 10 · rank 104
More models from Hotwav
- Hotwav TAB R9 Ultra 5G5.9 out of 10 · rank 65
- Hotwav TAB R11 Pro5.9 out of 10 · rank 67
- Hotwav TAB R7 Pro5.9 out of 10 · rank 69
- Hotwav Pad 17 Pro5.8 out of 10 · rank 91
- Hotwav TAB R10 Pro5.7 out of 10 · rank 140
- Hotwav TAB R85.6 out of 10 · rank 154
- Hotwav TAB R9 Pro5.6 out of 10 · rank 170
- Hotwav TAB R9 Pro Max5.4 out of 10 · rank 257
- All 21 models from Hotwavtablets